Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 1/12

January 12, 2011

leeks, endives, eggs, parsnips, beets, lentils, apples

There are my endives!  Thank you.  I admit I was a little disappointed that there were only three of them, but that’s enough to cover a pizza.  As we speak As I write, it is baking along with a healthy layer of caramelized leeks.  Oh!  The oven just beeped!

I’ve got a great idea for those parsnips and apples, too:  a creamy soup studded with chunks of smoky-spicy Spanish chorizo.

The lentils, too are exciting.  I’ll either make this hummus again – which was delicious and would be a fabulous addition to the NFL playoff party I’m attending this weekend – or they will become a spice-laden Indian dal.

What’s left?  The beets.  I think it’s borscht season.  I’ve only made this Ukrainian beef-and-beet soup once, and I didn’t like it, because I did not yet like beets.  But now I do, so I want to give it another shot.

Oh, yeah, and the eggs.  Try as I might to make plans for them, they almost always end up as weekend breakfast.  Though maybe that parsnip-apple-and-chorizo thing would work as a savory clafoutis.  Or even a soufflé.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. January 13, 2011 1:09 am

    Ooh, I love the idea of slipping some sweet apple into a savoury chorizo and parsnip soup! Also, your beet[root]s make me envious. I love them, and the other day bought some and was horrified at how salty and off-tasting they were. It was the strangest, and saddest, thing, like, totally, like, ever.

  2. researchingparis permalink
    January 13, 2011 1:15 am

    I vote for hummus. And, since I’m hosting the party, I get a substantial vote, yes? 🙂

  3. January 13, 2011 2:54 pm

    Oh that lentil hummus looks fabulous. I have been feasting on Nigella Lawson’s peanut butter hummus this week which was wonderful. Due to my wildly out chick pea calculations I will have quite a bit more chick pea hummus to go before I can sample this delicious one.

  4. January 14, 2011 9:41 pm

    Hannah – That is strange and sad… were they already cooked?

    researchingparis – You got it!

    Louise – Wow, peanut butter hummus sounds intriguing!

Comments are closed.